Arrested for Drunk Driving?
Everyone enjoys a drink or two, but one of the most dangerous and reckless situations people can get themselves into is drunk driving. Also known as Driving Under the Influence, or DUI, drunk driving can cause serious problems. In addition to the obvious risk of serious bodily injury or even death, there is always a risk of damaging your own property or the property of others. A DUI charge also shows up on background checks and is looked upon unfavorably when you are applying for jobs or training in certain areas. It is also taken as a negative against leadership roles which require “exercising sound judgment” and a “good moral character” – the list goes on and on. The State of Florida is strict against drunk drivers. If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges in the Miami area, contact our office now to get in touch with a Miami DUI lawyer.
Florida DUI Statutes:
In the state of Florida, Driving Under the Influence of alcohol, chemicals, or controlled substances is defined as:
- Impairment of normal faculties
- Unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of08 or above
The penalties for DUI in Florida are as under:
- Fines: For the first conviction, fines range from $500 to $2000 depending on the seriousness of the situation. For a second conviction, fines range from $1000 to $4000. For a third or fourth conviction, the fine may not be below $2000.
- Community Service or Probation may be served for a first conviction at the discretion of the court.
- Imprisonment: A prison sentence can be handed out even for the first DUI conviction if the circumstances are serious. For the first conviction, a term of 6 months in jail can be required by the judge. A second conviction can earn jail time up to 12 months. A third conviction requires imprisonment for up to 12 months and a fourth may earn a prison sentence of up to 5 years.
- Vehicle Impoundment:
Unless the family of the defendant being charged with DUI has no other transportation, a vehicle can be impounded for 10, 30 or 90 days for the first, second, or third conviction respectively.
- DUI and Involvement in an Accident or Injury:
A person who is convicted of a DUI that resulted in an accident, damage to property, or injury of another person may be charged with a first degree The consequence of this charge is a $1000 fine or a year in jail.
Get in Touch with a DUI Lawyer Today – Call our office now (305) 615-1285
Even if you are facing a DUI charge, you should know you still have legal rights. Strong representation by a Miami DUI lawyer may help tilt the odds in your favor and even result in a positive outcome. Your attorney may recommend a variety of defense if you have a clean record and the blood alcohol level was close to the legal limit. In some cases, the charges can be reduced to reckless driving instead of a DUI. A DUI lawyer in Miami from our office will aggressively support you throughout the process and try their best to help you take the necessary steps to get back on track.