Florida Law on Hot-Car Deaths: Unattended Children in Motor Vehicles

Written by:Julian Stroleny PortraitJulian Stroleny

There has been a surge of incidents involving the death of children left in hot, unoccupied cars.  Many of these incidents result in charges brought against the child’s parent, guardian or other caretaker.  Not all states have specific laws designed to target this growing concern.  Each state has different laws governing this issue.  It is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in your state to learn about the different laws affecting you.

Most recently, in Atlanta, a father whose son died after being left in a hot vehicle was charged with murder.  The twenty-two month old child was reportedly left in the car for several hours while the father was at work.  Currently, the father is being held without bond and is facing the death penalty stemming from a charge of malice murder.   The charges brought against the father focus on the twenty-two month old child’s death and the physical pain suffered prior to death.   Court filings and testimony seem to show that the incident did not arise out of an accident or mistake, but rather that the father had abandoned the child in an effort to attain a childfree life.  Evidence gathered by authorities includes explicit conversations between the father and six women during the course of the workday and more importantly, the father’s inaction upon returning to his vehicle and seeing his child.

Currently, Florida has a law to deal with cases involving children under age six that are left unattended or unsupervised in motor vehicles.  In Florida, it is illegal and therefore a crime to leave a child unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle if it could cause great bodily harm or permanent disability to the child.  Those in violation of this law could face various penalties including a noncriminal traffic infraction punishable by a fine ranging from $100 to $500 or a felony charge punishable by a sentence of five years to life in prison.

If you have been charged with a criminal offense for leaving a child in a car unattended or unsupervised, contact a criminal defense attorney in your area.  An experienced criminal defense attorney can resolve your legal matter and provide you with the best possible outcome. Contact the experienced attorney at Stroleny Law: Criminal Defense Attorney to learn more about your legal options and see how he can resolve your Miami-Dade or Broward county case.  Call today at 305-615-1285 to schedule a free consultation or visit strolenylaw.com for more information.

Request a Free Case Evaluation

Fill out the form below and we will respond to you shortly.

The materials on this web site are intended for informational purposes only. The materials on this Web site are not intended to be, nor should they be interpreted as, legal advice or opinion. The reader should not consider this information to be an invitation to an attorney client relationship, should not rely on information presented here for any purpose, and should always seek the legal advice of counsel in the appropriate jurisdiction. Transmission and receipt of the information in this site and/or communication with the Firm via e-mail is not intended to solicit or create, and does not create, an attorney-client relationship between the Firm and any person or entity.